Deadline: 11:59 PM, Monday, February 28, 2022

About the Program

The Fulbright Teaching Excellence and Achievement (Fulbright TEA) Program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. The Fulbright program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by former U.S. Senator William Fulbright of Arkansas. Fulbright grants are awarded to international secondary-level teachers of English, English as a Foreign Language, math, science, and social studies, including special education teachers in those subjects to the United States for a six-week program in January 2023 or September 2023. Participants take part in academic seminars, observe and co-teach in U.S. classrooms, and collaborate on best educational practices with educators and students at the host university and at local secondary schools. Participants engage in various civic and cultural activities in their host communities to promote mutual understanding. Since its inception in 1946, more than 390,000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the Fulbright program.  

Teachers are nominated to participate in the Fulbright TEA Program based on their educational and professional experience, academic training, and leadership. Final selection of Fulbright TEA teachers is made by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FFSB). The FFSB is an independent, presidentially appointed board that has oversight responsibility for all Fulbright academic exchange programs. 

This program is administered by IREX and managed by the Fulbright Commission in Nepal.  

Preference will be given to candidates from disadvantaged groups and out of valley schools. Individuals with disabilities and women are strongly encouraged to apply.